Raw cacao cake with coconut, persimmon and pomegranate

raw coconut pomegranate cake

 

Am I still accountable in the world of super “chefs” if I tell you that this is the third raw vegan cake I tasted in my life and the second that I prepared? :)

The first one (only tasted) was a raw chocolate cake at a raw vegan event organized at work with the occasion of welcoming the fresh spring, last year. The second (tasted and first prepared) was a chocolate mousse cake with lemon cashew cream, almost a month ago, with a recipe fully taken from the internet. The third one (tasted and second prepared) is this one, based on a recipe provided by a dear Romanian blog I follow, to which I brought some changes.

What amazed me each time when eating these cakes was the natural and rich taste of the ingredients, the sense of satiety after just a small piece and the cream, oh praise the creamy super-food: avocados. And, after a few bites, I started to wonder: why didn’t I discover these foods earlier? And why can’t the baked cakes (undeniably delicious but full of God-knows-what-ingredients) bought from sweetshops be as healthy and natural?

Anyway, since it was my birthday a week ago (25, a quarter of a century, cannot-believe-i’m-getting-old type of age), I decided to treat myself and loved ones with something that will make me feel good and proud of what I learned in the last few months about nutrition.

Please proceed as below.

raw coconut pomegranate cake

Crust:

  • 300 g hazelnuts
  • 150 g walnuts
  • approximately 10 dry dates, pitted
  • 3 tbsp oat bran
  • water from 1 coconut

Cream:

  • 2 avocados
  • 1 banana
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp cacao
  • 3/4 coconut flesh, grated

Extra:

  • 1 persimmon
  • 1/4 coconut flesh, grated
  • seeds from half of a pomegranate
  • a handful of goji

raw coconut pomegranate cake

To make the crust pulse the hazelnuts, walnuts, dates and oat bran together in a high-speed blender / food processor until they stick together. I did not want to transform the nuts into flour, as I like tasting bigger chunks so I blended them just a bit. Also, add the coconut water so that it sticks better and has a great taste. Arrange the crust in a cake pan and put it in the fridge.

For the cream, start by chopping a banana into pieces and grating the flesh from one coconut. Blend together the pulp from 2 avocados, the banana, honey, cacao and only 3/4 of the coconut flesh, until they are smooth. You can adjust for sweetness, but 3 tbsp of honey should really be enough.

Cut the persimmon into half and then into thin slices.

Take out of the fridge the crust and put the persimmon slices on it. Add the cream and spread it evenly over the persimmon.

At the end, decorate with the 1/4 coconut flesh, pomegranate seeds and goji. Refrigerate until served.

raw coconut pomegranate cake

 

raw coconut pomegranate cake

 

Peek-a-boo, I see you :)

Hai să vorbim!